Skip to Content | Skip to Footer
  • Text Size:
  • decrease text
  • increase text
  • High Contrast:
  • Contrast

Ontario Thoracic Society


The Ontario Thoracic Society (OTS) is a medical section of the Ontario Lung Association (OLA). Its membership consists primarily of respirologists practicing in Ontario. For more information on the benefits of membership, visit our membership page.


The mission statement of the Society is: "To promote respiratory health through medical research and education."

  • To provide scientific and educational advice to the OLA.
  • To assist the OLA in furthering its goals of supporting medical research and conducting community health programs.
  • To facilitate, encourage, and adjudicate clinical, epidemiological, and basic scientific research in the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of respiratory disease and the promotion of respiratory health.
  • To support and facilitate continuing medical education into all aspects of respiratory health and disease throughout the province of Ontario.
  • To liaise with the Canadian Thoracic Society and other provincial thoracic societies in the achievement of these common goals.


Read current issue of Ontario Thoracic Review  Spring 2016

Download Current Issue  OTR (PDF)

Resources for Patient Information 


Ontario Thoracic Society Executive Committee (2015-2016)


OTS Chair: George Chandy, MD, MSc, FRCPC
OTS Chair-Elect: Eric Hentschel, MD, FRCPC                                  
OTS Past Chair and OTS OLA Board Representative: Thomas Kovesi, MD, FRCPC  

Members at Large:
John Granton, MD, FRCPC
Virjanand Naraine, MD, FRCPC
Dhenuka Radhakrishnan, MD, FRCPC
Onofre Moran, MD, MSc, PhD
Khalil Sivjee, MD, FCCP, FRCPC
Frank Vincent Ritacca, MD, FRCPC

Ex-Officio Members:
Research Advisory Committee Chair: Chung Wai Chow, MD, PhD
BBC Chair 2017: Mithu Sen, MD, FRCPC, D'ABSM
OMA Representative: Helen Ramsdale MA, BM, MRCP (UK), FRCPC
Program Director Representative: Chris Li, MD, FRCP(C) 
Pediatric Representative: Sharon Dell, MD, BEng, FRCPC
Resident Representative: Coleman Black, MD, FRCPC
Thoracic Surgery Representative: Christian Finley, MD, FRCS (C)
OTS Medical Director: Hedy Ginzberg, MDCM, FRCPC, PhD
OTS Administrator: Pamela Tophen

Contact Us

Ontario Thoracic Society
401-18 Wynford Drive
Toronto, ON M3C 0K8

Telephone: (416)864-9911 ext 254
Fax: (416)864-9916

Directions and Parking instructions to the Ontario Thoracic Society


Copyright 2015 Ontario Lung Association   Accessibility | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | Complaints